We all know how increasing popular Snapchat is becoming, in
a recent report from Bloomberg.com; Snapchat has over 150 million users, which
makes it significantly bigger than Twitter based on the public statement on the
statement. While the app is termed to
be better than other social media platforms, many users find it difficult to
understand some of the features in it more than they do to other apps, for
instance, how to unblock someone. Here
is what you need to know when you block someone.
When you select a contact from your list of friends, there
is a pop-up menu that prompts you to either delete the contact from the list or
edit the contact or block it. Sometimes Snapchat users usually delete the
contact instead of blocking it, so when you are trying to unblock the contact,
it wonâ€™t work.
If you decide to
block someone it simply means that the person cannot see the name on his friend
list. They wonâ€™t be notified when you blocked them, and they wonâ€™t even be able
to search you. There is a way you can
block someone from seeing your story in the feed, and they will not be able to
tell whether you have blocked them, but that is different from blocking a
contact. When you block a contact that
has pissed you off in one way or another, it becomes obvious to them that you
have blocked them.
On your side, the name is marked by a red blocked symbol,
but you will notice that the name moves down as you chat with others.
All in all, itâ€™s very easy to unblock someone on Snapchat if
you really think he or she deserves a second chance. Here is the simple step to
Step 1: Tap the
â€œghostâ€ button on the top center of your screen. This opens your profile
Step 2: Tap on the
â€œGear Boxâ€ at the top right corner of your screen. The “Gear box”
opens the Snapchat settings
Step 3: On the
â€œaccount actionsâ€ section, tap the blocked option. You may need to scroll all the way down, and
if you do not find this option, it means that your Snapchat version is out of
date. In that case, you will need to
update it to continue.
Step 4: You will find the list of all blocked
contacts after tapping blocked button.
All you need to do is tap the X button, located right to the name of the
friend you want to unblock. You will be
asked by the app to confirm by tapping yes or cancel.
Step 5: Their name will return to the original
position on your friend list. However,
you will need to add the contact you have just unblocked on your friend list
again and have them add you back to continue sending snaps to each other
without anyone of you seeing the pending message, and he or she can be able to
view your story.
Hereâ€™s how to add someone back to your list
On my friend screen
go to the upper right corner and tap the search icon. Type your friend’s
username in the search box, and if found click add friend icon on the right
side of the name. When you add your
friend, he or she will receive a friend request, and they can if the decide to
accept, then you can continue to send snaps to each other.
If you have no idea about his username, try using their
number, and if they have integrated the number to the Snapchat app, then you
will be able to find them. You can also
scan snap codes that you previously screenshotted on your device. Please note that if you had deleted a
contact from your list, then you wonâ€™t be able to add them until 24 hours is
As you can see, the process of unblocking someone on
Snapchat is simple. If you are, however,
receiving tons of Snapchats from unknown people, you can use the setting on
your app so that only your friends will send you snaps. All you need to do is
go to the setting page, by clicking the gear icon on the right hand on your
screen, under who can send me snaps options choose my friends.